My Songwriting Efforts

A place to discuss your own works. Whether they may be literary, visual art, or music pieces, this is the place to show off your stuff!
ArnoldtheRubberDucky
Butter Pecan

My Songwriting Efforts

I would like to clarify something: I am not coming back now. This is simply a post I really wanted to make, and I don't see any reason to wait six months to make it when I can do it now.

As some of you might know, I am a novice songwriter. I wrote about ten parts of songs in the last few days, and I thought I'd share the some that I feel are the most complete. The first one is not completely finished, (I still need to write the 3rd and 4th verses) but it's close enough. I'll let you interpret all of them your own way, because that's part of the fun of reading a song. Here it is:

Greater Than Rome Lyrics

I see darkness
I see light
I see courage
I see fright

I see might
Doesn't make right
I see blindness
I see sight

Earth is a vacation
And then you come home
Only fools and nomads
Stay here to roam

There is a destination
We're all going home
The city of the future
Will be greater than Rome

Oh it'll be greater than Rome
Greater than Rome
Greater than Rome

Please don't feel the need to hold back critique. I mean, if you flat out think one of these is the worst song ever written, go ahead and tell me. (In a kind way, of course. ;))
Sir Arnold, Knight of the Order of Augustine, Debate Vampire
Mr. Yorp wrote:You don't need a degree to shovel manure.
Arkán Dreamwalker
Pistachio

Is that reference to Rome insulting Catholics or the other way around?
~ Walker in Dreams
Wretched Sinner
Lemon Meringue

This is really good, CT, al;so, it's good to have you back.
Pound Foolish
Coffee Biscotti